Basically, No. However, it depends on some factors.
Kayaking is an exciting experience. If you are using the kayak as it is, you do not need a license. However, if it is motor-propelled, you will need a license to use it. License is restricted to people of certain ages. Each state has its requirements for getting a license. Know what obtains in your state.
What determines if you need a boating license?
Whether or not you need a boating license depends on several factors. The requirements of the law differ in different locations. What obtains in some states or regions is not allowed in other states or regions. Here are some factors that will determine if you need a boating license before you can operate your kayak or not:
In some states, you do not need a license to use your kayak. However, you cannot use your kayak in some other states or regions if it is motor-powered unless you obtain a license.
For instance, in Pennsylvania, if you attach a motor to your kayak, you have to obtain a license and permit before you can use it in public waters. Aside from obtaining a license, you have to comply with all baiting regulations, including using your personal flotation device, PDF. This is most important when you are kayaking in hazardous waters. In a capsizing situation, for instance, a lifejacket will save you.
The same thing obtains in Maryland. A kayak without a motor can operate without a license because it is under the category of “manually-propelled water vessel”. However, if a motor propels it, it will need a license for authorization.
The law in Maryland holds that individuals seeking a license must have been born on or after July 1st, 1972. Additionally, the kayaker seeking a license must have been certified safe to drive. That is, the kayaker must have obtained a boating safety education certificate.
In addition to the preceding requirements, a kayaker can only operate their kayak with a propeller if they meet the age requirement. In Maryland, the legal age for kayakers to use a motorized kayak is 12 years and over. This age restriction does not mean that people below this legal age cannot kayak. They can use a motorized kayak under the watch of an adult who is up to 16 years and over.
In California, the rules are majorly the same. If your kayak is motor-propelled, you have to register it under the Department of Motor Vehicles. In California, you are also required to complete a course in Boating Education in the state.
In California, the legal age for kayakers is higher than in Maryland. In California, you must be above 18 years to qualify to use a motorized kayak. For kayakers below the age of 18, say between the age of 12 and 15 must be under the watch of an adult. In addition to an adult-supervised game, the law requires them to have a boaters’ card from the appropriate department in California.
To know what the boating requirements are for your state, you can search online for viable information. One place to look is the National Association of Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA). Here, there are web pages for each state’s requirements.
How to obtain a boating license
Kayaking is an exciting exercise. However, if you have an issue with the law, a happy outing can quickly become something you regret. Therefore, you need the necessary information before setting out on kayaking wherever you are. It is not enough to know if you need a license or not. It is also necessary to know how to obtain one if you happen to be where you would need one to go kayaking.
A boater license is a requirement for people whose kayaks are motor-propelled. To get one, follow these simple steps:
Know what your states’ boating requirements are
You can harness the internet to get viable information. One site that will be of great help to you is the NASBLA mentioned above. Rather than browsing each state, you can obtain the information you need about any state here. You simply click on the web page in your state to know what the requirements are.
Complete the boating course
The next step is to complete a boating course. Each state has courses they make available for boaters, including kayakers. You can look for the perfect online course for your state at BoaterExam.com or Boat-Ed.com. However, this is for persons whose states offer online courses. In some places like Connecticut, only in-person courses are available on strategic sites distributed across the state. These classes usually have sessions ranging from two to four. Each session lasts for eight hours at the least.
Pass the test
The test for the courses is designed to be quite easy to pass. It is necessary to pass the test to get your license. The course is structured so that you have to get the lesson embedded in every session. At the end of each session, you will be required to take an exam, pass it, and move to the next session. After the course, you will take your exams. If you pass, you will get your license, and off to the waters, you go.
Make the necessary payment
There is a fee attached to the courses, usually ranging between $29 and $50. Third parties usually offer online boating courses, and they charge a fee. At the BoatUS Foundation, you will get free boating education courses for free. These free courses cover 35 states.
You do not need a boating license if it is just your kayak. However, if you attach a motor to it, you will need a license.
There are age restrictions to using a boating license. In some states, those below the legal age can still use a motor-propelled kayak if an adult supervises them. It is advisable to get a boating license to be able to go kayaking wherever you are.